stung.

I feel things. I’ve never been stung by anything before (when there’s a bee in the vicinity you can usually find me running in the opposite direction), and have a low pain tolerance. I guess I’m pretty sensitive, lol.

Yesterday I rode a boat  to an island, went horseback riding (pretty cool!!), went to the beach, got stung by a jellyfish, and whimpered in pain. I’d say it was an eventful day!

I was pretty shocked once I realized I had been stung, and on top of that, it hurt a lot. It was so bad I felt my chest tightening and I could hardly breathe. I tried to think of the positive things:  the kind strangers who communicated that they’ve seen others go through what I was going through and said the lifeguard would be able to help and then pointed me in his direction even when they didn’t speak English; the lifeguard who gave me ointment and said I’d be okay, even when I felt otherwise; my siblings who took care of me and googled my situation; the fact that I didn’t get stung in the eyes…

the stings. and this photo doesn't even do them justice. ouch =(

the stings. and this photo doesn’t even do them justice. ouch. =(

After I sat down and slightly recovered from what was probably a mixture of shock and a panic attack,  I heard a little voice inside of me that said:

See, look how strong you are.

Don’t get me wrong, I was still in a lot of pain. A lot. But I had to marvel at what I’d heard: I’m strong enough to withstand the stings (yup, more than one) of a jellyfish. Just like everyone else, I too have those days when I believe otherwise. But maybe, what we all truly need is just someone there to tell us it’s all going to be okay. No matter what.

You never think it’s going to happen to you, but when it does? You’re shown just how strong you are.

(p.s.  Is this what getting a tattoo feels like? Because in that case, I’m not sure if I can ever get one! lol, jk. But actually…)

2 thoughts on “stung.

What do you think? Leave your reply here. =)

