resounding truth

because posts are better with images! here's a sneak peek of a post coming to the blog later today! =) #film

because posts are better with images, here’s a sneak peek of a post coming to the blog later today! =) #film

Paul is one of my favorite writers of the Bible. His poetic language is comforting, convicting, and hope-inspiring all at once. It wasn’t until recently that I realized that he’s pretty much my top favorite writer of the Bible. (I think Solomon holds the #2 spot =).) Paul uses his words to make me feel, and every time I read something that he’s written I feel the same way: uplifted and grateful for how very great my savior’s love is for me.

Reading scripture aloud is so powerful.

Have you heard of the phrase, “speaking into existence?” You know, the acknowledgement of the power that vocally declaring things such as “I think I do have feelings for him,” or “This isn’t really what I wanted,” or “I am going to move to France in five months” somehow has of bringing certain things to light and truth, into reality? By using our voices to utter or confess certain things, somehow we are making them real.

I was reading one of those wonderfully written chapters of the Bible the other day and felt a sudden impulse to recite it.  And with every word I spoke I felt the resounding power of the promises they composed and it was wonderful. Singing hymns or worship songs might appear to be a comparable experience, seeing as many of those songs are comprised of Biblical verses, but this is something… different.

Who will separate us from the love of Christ? Will hardship or distress or persecution or famine or nakedness or peril or sword? As it is written:

“For your sake we face death all day long;
we are considered as sheep to be slaughtered.”

 No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us.  For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers,  neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

(Romans 8:35-39)

And that, my friends, is really all there is to it.

2 thoughts on “resounding truth

  1. Pingback: time capsule | the blog

What do you think? Leave your reply here. =)

