beach trip

colonial beach

Yesterday I had the pleasure of participating in a styled shoot in Virginia (YAY!! pics soon ;)).  My restless heart has been yearning to go the beach lately, so I decided that after the shoot I would take a detour and drive to the nearest beach.

Colonial Beach was deemed the most appropriate locale by my GPS, and she faithfully led me there. I left the shoot right at the start of golden hour and raced against the sun to make it to the beach by sunset. Singing loud, driving fast–there’s nothing like you and the open road.

Some of the scenes I drove by were so excruciatingly, breathtakingly beautiful that I wished I weren’t driving on a two-lane highway so I could stop and photograph them. Green, open fields… leaves of trees with golden tips from the glow of sunset… it was all so lovely.

I got to the waterfront just in time to catch the end of the sunset as it morphed into twilight. The sky was dazzlingly gorgeous and I sat and let the waves dance on my feet and my breath melt into the crisp air; there I was able to just breathe.

Large bodies of water are such a powerful thing. Even though this beach was of the Chesapeake Bay and not the Atlantic Ocean, its majesty did not go unnoticed.

I can’t wait for the next time I can relax at the beach.

xxoo,

Paulina

3 thoughts on “beach trip

What do you think? Leave your reply here. =)

