inspired monday: changing seasons and the weeping willow

IMG_4258

“We are hard pressed on every side, but not crushed; perplexed, but not in despair; persecuted, but not abandoned; struck down, but not destroyed.”

-2 Corinthians 4:8-9

Today I sat at my laptop, staring at a blank screen and wondering what to write. I had an idea before; but, alas, in light of recent events, I questioned it.

Funnily enough, in writing that sentence, I gained greater clarity about what I should write. I guess that’s the beauty of writing.

I’m going to be real with you today, readers, if that’s okay. =).

IMG_4244

I can honestly say that lately, I’ve felt a lot of sadness. A singing-out-loud-on-deserted-streets, unable-to-hold-back-tears-in-public kind of sadness. I wasn’t sure exactly how to write about it, but I figure that because life is, well, life; and our hearts are also grieving for Boston today, that some of you may be able to take comfort in these words.

IMG_4263

IMG_4261

When your tears have been your food night and day, when your body feels like it is withering away, when grief makes it hurt just to breathe, when despair clouds joy and becomes all you can see–you have to know that this too shall pass. All of it. Someday.

IMG_4240

IMG_4241

Never before have I appreciated the changing of seasons as I have this year. When winter was still here, I waited for spring to come like I waited for Santa on Christmas Eve. Even today, it still amazes me that the nature that was barren and desolate is now giving rise to new life. Bearing fruit.

IMG_4264

IMG_4265

On days like today when I feel more like a weeping willow than an actual human being, I have to remember that there is beauty in transition: light, in darkness. Even when none of it makes sense and it feels like life thrust a dagger into your heart instead of giving you a comforting hug. My deepest condolences go to those suffering from the attacks today.

photographybypaulina.com

IMG_4257

IMG_4250

IMG_4270

IMG_4271

The best part about change, about disillusionment, about tragedy–is that something different comes afterward. Something new and something strong. Each change leads to a shedding of a part of ourselves and brings us deeper to the core of who we are.

Pictures are so incredible. Even ones taken five months ago are so telling. Have you ever looked at old photographs of yourself or your loved ones? I have. And it’s amazing to me to think of  how different I am from the girl in the image. Much has changed, but then I think that maybe deep down I’m still the same. To the core.

lots of love on this monday and always,

Paulina

2 thoughts on “inspired monday: changing seasons and the weeping willow

What do you think? Leave your reply here. =)

