happy one year, squiggly hair

one year, one week, and one-plus-one days ago, i stood over a watery bowl in our bathroom and excitedly chopped off the chemically straight, damaged strands of hair weighing down my beautiful curls. i had stopped using chemicals to straighten my hair for almost a year at that point, but atop my head remained a battle between my squiggles and the straight hair. that night, a year ago, i decided the struggle of managing the two textures was enough and i was ready to see what would come of the change… ready to fully commit (cutting your own hair is no joke y’all! lol).

since then, it has been a year full of much joy and many…ahem…mishaps. haha. i’ve essentially been learning how to style and take care of my hair all over again, which is definitely a process. but the relationship i have with my natural hair is for life, and i wouldn’t trade it for anything else.

 

a photo of me then, right after my big chop:

big chop

 

a photo of me now:

then and now

happy Monday!!

<3

What do you think? Leave your reply here. =)

