inspired monday: the beauty we love

“Let the beauty we love be what we do. There are hundreds of ways to kneel and kiss the ground.”  -Rumi

When I found an etsy shop that offered custom-engraved copper bracelets, I knew I had to have one.  I had the first sentence of this quote engraved on it, along with a few `symbols that have meaning for me. Every time I wear it, I’m inspired by what it represents for me. I’m a huge fan of poetry, and Rumi’s words translated into English are beautiful.

After being around so many photographers and creatives in New York a few weeks ago, I realized that photographers are beauty-seekers. We’re trained to find the beauty in life, and I think that’s so special. As human beings, so much of our work (whether we’re dancers, authors, artists,  animal caretakers, scientists, environmentalists, etc.) celebrates the beauty in life on some level or another. I think I’m just starting to understand how one’s work is a form of worship, and I think Rumi’s quote really hit the nail on the head.

How do you represent the beauty surrounding you? Leave a comment below and let us know! =)

What do you think? Leave your reply here. =)

