3 things i currently miss: sun, space, and modernity

Everything is old here. Okay, maybe not everything, but a lot of things are. But hey, Georgetown was established even before Washington DC, so it comes with the territory. Don’t get me wrong: the town definitely has charm and its own character, but is it me? 

Call it Satan or my Censor, but something in me told me that I don’t belong here. The doubt crept in and it made me sad.

It’s just so different here. The culture, the weather…everything.

Maybe it’ll grow on me. I’m sure it will. I mean, I just got here. And I haven’t even explored downtown yet. Here are some points to counteract the three things I miss:

1. sun?  it’s not sunny because it’s rainy outside. post-thunderstormy weather. i miss my sun, though, and walking in the rain definitely didn’t help when I was already feeling blah-y. but i miss the sun on rainy days in LA, too.
2. space? it’s urban…so that’s to be expected. these rowhouses are so cute but so small. some of them definitely have a cottage-like feel.
3. modernity? well…I addressed this one in the third sentence of this post. but i kind of like the age of the city…it makes the campus feel like a “real university,” (like ‘SC wasn’t?!? haha) which simultaneously motivates to be more studious, which is a good thing. plus the cobblestones remind me of europe. and i like europe =). (see cell-phone picture above for a look.)

So yes, it’s different. But different is not necessarily better or worse. It just means change. One landlord I met with today said that adjusting will take some time (without him even knowing how I was feeling), and that LA is different from the rest of the U.S. Maybe he’s right.

I squirm a little inside when landlords and tenants assume I’m here for undergrad, because I’m young and I look even younger than I am. I feel a little embarrassed when I have to correct them.

Embarrassed? Of being so very blessed in the ability to earn my BA in 3 years? Blessed that I had learned enough at 4 years old to not be held back a year because of my late birthday, resulting in my being on the young-end of my peers?

It’s during times like these when I need to remember 1 Timothy 4:12, which says:

“Do not let anyone look down on you because you are young, but set an example for the believers in speech, in life, in love, in faith and in purity.”

I know it’s a little out of context, but the words ring true.

And I mean, nobody is looking down on me because of my youth, at least so far. So why do I feel this way? I shouldn’t. My security can’t come from my age, my schools, my degrees, my networks, or my home. It has to come from Christ.

Strange feelings aside, my first day was great. I liked walking around and getting to know my town for the next couple of years, and I’m excited to see more of it tomorrow.

**if you made it to the bottom of this post, you’re awesome. thanks for letting me share a little piece of my thoughts with you.

love&love,

Paulina

(p.s. I saw a bridal party being photographed today =D.)

3 thoughts on “3 things i currently miss: sun, space, and modernity

  1. Pingback: the housing search « the blog

  2. Pingback: mothers and brothers « the blog

What do you think? Leave your reply here. =)

